01642 601890

Early Years

Early Years

Bowesfield’s Foundation Stage setting is a creative and active learning space engaging all pupils to develop a love of learning as they embark on their school journey.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) applies to children from birth to the end of the Reception year. At Bowesfield we have a Nursery Class for 46 children (40 part-time and 6 full-time) aged 3 to 4 years and two Reception Classes for 60 children aged 4 to 5 years.

We believe that early childhood is the foundation on which children build the rest of their lives and at Bowesfield Primary School we greatly value the importance that the EYFS plays in laying secure foundations for future learning and development.

Curriculum Intent

In Early Years we provide children with a responsive curriculum through a planning in the moment approach that reflects the needs and diversity of our learners, focusing on developing early talk, alongside daily phonics, reading and mathematical development inputs. 

We encourage children to take control of their own learning through sharing and building on their interests alongside provocations provided by staff to promote children’s curiosity to widen their experiences and develop their interests further. 

A practical, playful approach to learning, based on the needs and interests of our children, is delivered following children’s interests alongside some themes introduced by adults to spark children’s interests further. We teach children individually, in small groups and in class groups. Through a combination of teacher input and continuous provision opportunities, the curriculum is planned to encourage children to develop their learning independently through exploration and challenge.  Children are confident to tackle new learning, share their experiences and are prepared with the knowledge and skills they need to be successful learners in life.


At Bowesfield we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.

The EYFS is made up of seven areas of learning and development, three Prime areas and four Specific areas. The Prime areas cover the knowledge and skills which are the foundations for children’s future progress, and which are applied and reinforced by the four specific areas.

The three Prime areas are:

1) Personal, Social and Emotional Development

2) Communication and Language

3) Physical Development

The four Specific areas are:

1) Literacy

2) Mathematics

3)  Understanding of the World

4) Expressive Arts and Design

None of these areas can be delivered in isolation and all areas are delivered through a balance of adult guided or led, and child initiated activities. In each area there are Early Learning Goals that summarise the knowledge, skills and understanding that all young children should have gained by the end of Reception year.

Further information

EYFS Framework: This document outlines the standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.
Development Matters: This document provides non-statutory guidance materials and supports practitioners in implementing the statutory requirements of the EYFS.
What To Expect When: The purpose of this booklet is to help you as a parent/carer find out more about how your child is learning and developing during their first five years, in relation to the EYFS.